Current Progressive Cattle digital edition

Vote for the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame inductees

Intervet/Schering-Plough Published on 01 April 2011

Six bovine veterinarians who represent more than 150 years of service to the cattle veterinary profession have been nominated for the newly established Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame. Peer veterinarians can start voting April 1.

The Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame was established to celebrate the rich traditions of production veterinary medicine by honoring the exceptional men and women who have made lasting contributions to the cattle veterinary profession. Read More

“The inaugural hall of fame nominees are an impressive slate of candidates and are role models for our profession,” says Mark Spire, D.V.M., M.S., D.A.C.T., technical services manager for Intervet/Schering-Plough Animal Health. “They have made immeasurable contributions to cattle veterinary medicine and each one is deserving of this prestigious honor.”

Six organizations are sponsoring the hall of fame including the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP), the Academy of Veterinary Consultants (AVC), Bovine Veterinarian, Intervet/Schering-Plough Animal Health and Osborn & Barr.

The voting process
The inductees will be selected from among their peers, and all AABP and AVC members are eligible to vote for one beef and one dairy veterinarian. Voting begins April 1, during the AVC spring conference in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Voting will continue until Aug. 5, through the following:
• In person at AVC’s spring and summer conferences, March 31-April 2, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and Aug. 4-6, in Colorado Springs, Colorado.
• By mail through AABP’s April newsletter.
• Online at and

From the six nominees, two inductees will be honored, one beef and one dairy veterinarian each with the greatest number of votes in each category, at the AABP annual conference in St. Louis, Missouri, Sept. 22-24. They will be announced at the Intervet/Schering-Plough Animal Health-sponsored banquet Sept. 24.

The three beef cattle veterinarians nominated for the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame include:

Dr. John Herrick was an Iowa native and received his veterinary degree from Iowa State University. Following graduation, he practiced large-animal medicine before joining the ISU faculty and spent 35 years as a professor of veterinary clinical science and an as extension veterinarian. He pioneered the concept of preconditioning programs for weaned calves, which culminated in the Iowa “Green Tag” program. Herrick played a leading role in starting the American Association of Swine Veterinarians, the Society for Theriogenology, the use of artificial insemination and standards of semen production and for his work in brucellosis eradication and mastitis control. He also was a past president of American Veterinary Medical Association, Iowa Veterinary Medical Association and the American Association of Extension Veterinarians. Until his death in 2007, Herrick spent his retirement years as an animal-health consultant.

Dr. Dan Upson is a native of Kansas and received his veterinary degree from Kansas State University. Upson then entered private practice for seven years and went on to begin what became a 35-year tenure at Kansas State University, teaching pharmacology and serving as a section leader in veterinary extension. His contributions to the industry have led to the creation of tools and concepts comprising the basis for regulations dealing with oversight of veterinary prescription drug distributors and drug compounding, and he was instrumental in developing a model veterinary drug code. He is a past president of the Kansas Veterinary Medical Association.

Dr. Don Williams is a Texas native and received his veterinary degree from Texas A&M University. After 18 years in private practice in Texas and Oklahoma, he became the first company veterinarian for Hitch Enterprises in Guymon, Oklahoma, before moving into feedlot management as the manager of the Henry C. Hitch Feedlot. He developed the first national preconditioning program, Certified Preconditioned for Health, and was instrumental in developing large-scale cattle health programs, feedlot personnel training and scientific-based approaches to animal-health management. He is a founding member of the AVC and served on the organizing board of AABP. Williams has served as president of the Oklahoma VMA, AABP and National Cattlemen’s Foundation.

The three dairy veterinarians nominated for the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame include:

Dr. Harold Amstutz is an Ohio native and received his veterinary degree from The Ohio State University. He initially entered private practice in Orrville, Ohio, but he soon moved into a role at The Ohio State University as an instructor in veterinary medicine and later became chairman of the Department of Veterinary Medicine. Purdue University was his next stop, and he became chairman of the Department of Veterinary Medicine and moved up to be head of the Large Animal Medicine Section. Amstutz has served as the president of the World Association of Buiatrics, chairman of the organizing committee for the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and later president of the college, president of the American Association of Veterinary Clinicians and secretary/treasurer and executive director of AABP for 23 years.

Dr. Ken Leslie is a native of central Ontario and received his veterinary degree from the University of Guelph. Following graduation, he entered a dairy practice in Ontario, Canada. He returned to the University of Guelph, and his work led to an emerging research program in mastitis control, reproductive management and the field application of veterinary epidemiology. Leslie’s efforts contributed to the founding of one of the first Departments of Population Medicine in the world, and he was the founder of the first Dairy Health Management Certificate Program. His graduate training program and its subsequent research has expanded the application of a wide variety of bovine health and production medicine tools. Leslie also was instrumental in the development of the National Mastitis Council’s 10-Point Plan for Udder Health.

Dr. Bennie Osburn is a Kansas native and received his veterinary degree from Kansas State University. Osburn held positions as associate dean for Research and Graduate Education and director of the Veterinary Medicine Teaching and Research Center in Tulare. He went on to serve as dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine for University of California – Davis. His extensive work in the area of diagnostic test development relating to bluetongue virus led to the first regionalization of the disease and development of testing strategies that are now used across the globe. During Osburn’s term as president of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges, a strategic plan was undertaken to address veterinary workforce needs by launching the Veterinary Workforce Expansion Act. He has also served as president of American College of Veterinary Pathologists, American Association of Veterinary Immunologists and Conference of Research Workers in Animal Disease. end_mark 

—From Intervet/Schering-Plough news release